Vivaah Sanskar

Home / Sanskar / Vivah Sanskar

Vivaah Sanskar

Vivah means – 2nd part of our life and responsibilities. From here we take or accept responsibilities and challenges of new world all alone. Here we project ourselves a person who is mature and capable of doing everything in future. It also provides new emotions and sense of responsibility to a person. From Vivaah Sanskar ceremony on wards a man and woman can /should produce a child who will carry forward name of the parental family and physical structure. If some body denies this most important ceremony he could be in trouble in his future life. (Age 19 to 24 for boy and 19 to 23 for girl) in Hinduism it is called- Grihastha Ashram.

  1. Let’s first learn the significance and importance of Vivaah Sanskar.
  2. Then we will learn about the Puja items.
  3. We will do Panch Peeth puja.
  4. We will conclude the Vivaah Sanskar with a small Yagna.
STEP 1: Let’s understand Vivaah Sanskar

Watch the video to know the significance and importance of this Vivaah Sanskar.

STEP 2: Let’s Collect Puja Items for Vivaah Sanskar & Learn their Significance
  • Rice
  • Sandalwood
  • Moli (red thread)
  • Roli (red powder)
  • Lamp
  • Incense sticks
  • Coconut
  • Flowers
  • Sweets, Fruits
  • Water
  • Milk
  • Sugar
  • Curd (Yogurt)
  • Clarified butter (Ghee)
  • Honey
  • Dry fruits
  • Yagyopavit (sacred thread)
STEP 3: Let’s understand Vivaah Sanskar

First we will do the panch peeth puja
Let's follow the video through this step.

STEP 5: Now Let's Perform Havan

We will conclude the Vivaah Sanskar ceramony with a small havan or yagna.
Watch and follow along with the video to perform the havan.

Puja is considered complete after we offer dakshina

Regional Information For Vivaah Sanskar

Vivaah Sanskar

It is believed that the vivah ritual has been started with the Lord Shiv-Parvati marriage. Vedic Hindu marriage is considered as sacramental, which is a lifelong commitment of one wife and one husband. It is the strongest bond between a man and a woman, which takes place in the presence of their parents, relatives, and friends. This is an irrevocable commitment for a lifetime. Vivah is divided in four categories ie, Gandharav Vivah (If a king conquered another king, the winning king would marry any lady liked by him or the daughter of the defeated king); Assuri Vivah (abduction of a weak or poor’s daughter forcefully and marry her); Devic Vivah (It was prevalent into Dev Lok where a Devta would like a lady and would be accepted by the Guru) and the last Vedic Vivah (in vogue now a days. The match which is accepted by the society and performed as per the traditions.

Mantras to be cited are almost same however, the rituals differ from place to place and society to society. The normal steps are:-

1, Vak Daan: Here parents of the boy and girl accept the match and exchange some sweets etc to fix the marriage.

2. Shagan: 3. Vivah: as per the religious traditions followed by the respective families, which include:-

(a) Tilak & Sagun (Engagement): It is a commitment by the bride’s parents to complete the marriage of a future date acceptance by the parents of bridegroom.

(b) Ganesh, Navagrah Puja and ‘Chura’ Sait or Shantipath: Lord Ganesh is worshiped for success of the ceremony. Chura is given by the brides’ maternal uncle Mama as a blessing and well wishing for her married life. Offering Chunni to the bride to signify that from this time onward she is the breater of the respect fo the groom’s family.

(c) Sehra and Badhu Grahaagaman: Groom’s dressing with Sehra and Garland and proceeding to the bride’s house.

(d) Milani: A warm welcome and greeting of the groom’s parents by bride’s parents and other close family members with garlands and gifts mostly cash. Aarati offered to the groom.

(e) Jaimala: Formal acceptance of each other by bride and bridegroom with garlands.

(f) Madhupark: Reception of bridegroom by bride’s father with yogurt and honey.

(g) Sarva Dev Poojan: Lord Ganesh, nine planets, sixteen Matrikas, sixty-four Yoginies, seven ghee Matrikas are Varuna, Main Kalash, Sun and Kula Devatas are invited and worshiped. In their presence Kanyadan is performed.

(h) Kanyadan: (giving away of daughter)

(i) Paanigrahan: (Taking the hand of the bride) Seven sentences are pronounced by both.

(j) Gathbandhan: (Sacred Union of two souls)

(k) Homa and Laja Hom: (Baked rice grains into the fire) Establishing the fire and offering of Samagri into the fire. In the first four rounds grains are offered in the fire by the bride and bridegroom which are given to her by her brother. That signifies that she is leaving her family to join husband’s family.

(l)Parikrama: Mostly when all the rituals i.e. Ashmarohan (Shilarohan), feras, gathagan and Saptpadi are performed together they take seven rounds around the fire.

On this, marriage is supposed to be complete and both bride and groom take the blessings of all the present elders.